Home Press Release Maynilad repairs 5,300 leaks in Q1 2015

Maynilad repairs 5,300 leaks in Q1 2015

Maynilad Water Services, Inc. (Maynilad) has successfully repaired almost 5,300 pipe leaks across the West Zone concession area in the first quarter of 2015. With this, the company has recovered some 27 million liters of water per day (MLD), which is enough to serve the requirements of 27,000 households, or to fill almost 11 Olympic-sized swimming pools.
Majority of the leaks repaired were found in Manila, Parañaque and Quezon City.
Maynilad’s recent water audit found that 81% of the company’s Non-Revenue Water (NRW) may be attributed to leaks in its distribution network. To address this, the company conducts leak repairs and selective pipe replacement projects across its concession area.
“Over the past years, we have aggressively managed water losses because the more water we recover, the more water we can deliver to our customers. This is more economical than developing a new water source only to lose the potable water in a leaking distribution network,” said Maynilad President and CEO Ricky P. Vargas.
Maynilad’s NRW management efforts have enabled the company to reduce water losses to 32.7% by the end of March 2015. This is almost 34-percentage points lower that the NRW level of 66% before the DMCI-MPIC Consortium took over the company in 2007.
NRW is defined as the gap between the amount of water put into the distribution system and the amount of water for which customers are actually billed. NRW reflects volumes of water being lost through leaks (real/physical losses), and water not being invoiced or not being accurately measured (apparent/commercial losses).
The company enjoins its customers and the public to report pipe leaks through the Maynilad Hotline 1626.
Maynilad is the largest private water concessionaire in the Philippines in terms of customer base. It is the agent and contractor of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System (MWSS) for the West Zone of the Greater Manila Area, which is composed of the cities of Manila (certain portions), Quezon City (certain portions), Makati (west of South Super Highway), Caloocan, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Valenzuela, Navotas and Malabon all in Metro Manila; the cities of Cavite, Bacoor and Imus, and the towns of Kawit, Noveleta and Rosario, all in Cavite Province.
Posted by: Freda Migano


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here